Gibraltar National Mint

Coins from (1967 to 1981) Commemorative Coins

After a long absence, Gibraltar coins were introduced mainly for the use in gaming machines in the form of a Cupro-Nickel Crown. Thereafter, similar coins were struck annually until 1970.

The Obverse bears the effigy of Queen Elizabeth II by Arnold Machin, The Reverse has the emblem of Gibraltar as a Castle and Key. Apart form the Cupro-Nickel Crown a number of Silver proofs were released, including 50 coins with a frosted relief.

On the introduction of the decimal system in 1971, a commemorative coin of value 25 New Pence was introduced. This was followed by the 1972 25 New Pence coin marking the Queen’s Silver Wedding Anniversary. During 1977 a new coin commemorating the Silver Jubilee was struck.

In 1980 a coin marking the Queen Mother’s 80th Birthday was struck. Also during this same year a commemorative coin marking the 175th anniversary of the Death of Nelson was issued. The final coin produced over this period was the 1981 coin featuring the Wedding of Prince Charles and Lady Diana Spencer.

The above commemorative coins were struck in Cupro-Nickel for general circulation and also in Sterling Silver as proofs.

Disclaimer | Conditions of Sale | Terms of Service | Copyright | Site Map
This Website and its content is copyright of the Gibraltar National Mint Limited. All rights reserved.